Morris School District

A World of Opportunity

31 Hazel Street

Morristown, NJ 07960

Phone: 973-292-2300

Fax: 973-292-2057

The Morris School District Board of Education is comprised of ten individual members. There are five representatives from Morris Township, four from Morristown, and one from the Borough of Morris Plains.

Representative from the Town and Township are elected by their constituents to three-year terms of office. The Board of Education election is held on Election Day, the first Tuesday in November. The Morris Plains representative is a member of the Morris Plains Board of Education appointed annually by that body to the Morris School District Board to represent Morris Plains on issues affecting Morristown High School.
Members of the public are encouraged and welcome to attend all Board of Education meetings. A calendar of scheduled Board meetings from January 2016 through January 2017 is noted below.  Regular Board meetings are held at the Lafayette Learning Center, 31 Hazel Street, Morristown.
Unless otherwise noted, the Board meets in closed session at 6:30 PM to address personnel, negotiations,and litigation matters, and the open session (public portion) of meetings begins at 7:30 PM. Board meetings generally are held in the second-floor conference room of the Lafayette Learning Center, 31 Hazel Street, Morristown. Changes to starting times or location of Board meetings will be noted below.  A portion of each meeting is set aside for public comment.

 Board of Education Meeting Dates January 2016 - January 2017
January 4 (Reorganization Meeting), January 25
February 22
March 14 - (Closed Session to begin at 6:00 PM) 
April 4
April 25 - (Morristown High School)
May 9
June 6 (Morristown High School) & 27
July 25
August 22
September 12 & 26 (to be held in Learning Commons area of new MHS addition)
October 17
November 7,  & 28
December 19
January 3 (Reorganization Meeting) or 5 (Alternate Date for Reorganization Meeting) 





Directions to Board of Education Offices at Lafayette Learning Center